Below are the five original musical releases by Leonard Nimoy. Click on each album see and read more about each release.

The New World Of Leonard Nimoy

Nimoy's last album was a sad farewell to his recording career, as it lacked much of the charm and inventiveness of his earlier releases. This time he's teamed up with an entirely new crew of producers, arrangers and engineers who took the direction of the recording into a country bar style that hinders Nimoy's vocal range. Years later several of the tracks appeared on Rhino's popular Golden Throats series of unitentionally bad celebrity recordings.

This isn't to say that the album is all bad. Everybody's Talkin' is heartfelt, and most songs retain Nimoy's optimism concerning the human condition. The best track, The Sun Will Rise, written by Nimoy, would have felt at home on either of his two previous releases. It's a psychedelic production remniscent of The Age of Aquarius by The 5th Dimension. Even the Folksmen's parody, Children of The Sun (from the movie A Mighty Wind) sounds influenced by this song, only Nimoy's was and remains the real thing.

Stand out tracks Everybody's Talkin', The Sun Will Rise and Abraham, Martin & John.

1. Time To Get It Together (Smokey Roberds) Listen
2. Ruby Don't Take Your Love To Town
(Mel Tillis) Listen
3. The Mayor Of Ma's Cafe (Paul Hampton) Listen
4. I Walk The Line (Johnny Cash) Listen
5. I Finally Saw The Two Of You Today (Belland-Somerville) Listen
6. Mary's Near (Wayne-Capps) Listen
1. Abraham, Martin & John (Dick Holler) Listen
2. Proud Mary
(J.C. Fogerty) Listen
3. Let It Be Me (Curtis-Delanoe-Becaud) Listen
4. Everybody's Talkin' (Fred Neil) Listen
5. The Sun Will Rise (Leonard Nimoy) Listen
6. Put A Little Love In Your Heart
(Holiday-Myers-DeShannon) Listen

Dot Records DLP 25966
Produced by Steve Clark
Arranged by Ben Benay and Mike Hendersen
Art Direction: Paula Bard
Liner Photography: Del Hayden
Year Released: 1970

Tribute site dedicated to the music of Leonard Nimoy. Original content © 2006 Maiden Wine.